MONROE COUNTY INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT RESUME' OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

JULY 18, 2017

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 7:30 a.m.
- 2. The Board took formal action on the following organizational matters:
 - a. Elected Dale DeSloover as President.
 - b. Elected Renee Larzelere as Vice-President.
 - c. Elected Linda Stiegel as Treasurer.
 - d. Elected Paul Miller as Secretary.
 - e. Appointed Renee Larzelere as representative to the Monroe County Association of Boards of Education Board of Directors and Dale DeSloover as the representative for the Michigan Association of School Boards Legislative Relations Network.
 - f. Designated Fifth Third Bank as depository for the General Operating Fund, the Special Education Operating Fund, the School Service Fund, the Municipal Investment Account, accounts payable, student activity accounts, the Capital Projects Fund, the Employee Cash Fund, and the Reserve Fund and a zero balance account for EduStaff, and a zero balance account for BASIC.

Designated Monroe Bank and Trust as the reserve account.

Designated PNC for the MIF account, student activities, capital project, employee cash, and zero balance account for BASIC.

Designated JP Morgan Chase as a zero balance account for the 403(b) program.

g. Designated two of the Treasurer, Superintendent, or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as authorized signatures for the General Operating Fund, the Special Education Operating Fund, the School Service Fund, the Activity Accounts, the Capital Projects Fund, the Reserve Fund (Municipal Investment) Account; and the Employee Cash Fund and Zero Balance Accounts.

- h. Designated the Superintendent or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as authorized signatures for purchase order transactions up to the state bid limit without formal Board approval.
- i. Designated the Superintendent as the authorized signature for all contracts.
- j. Designated the Superintendent or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as the authorized signature for using the MEGS grant system.
- k. Approved the appointment of the Thrun Law Firm of Lansing as legal counsel for external general education matters, LaPointe and Associates of Okemos for external special education matters, and Elizabeth Taylor as internal legal counsel for the Board of Education for the 2017-2018 school year.
- 1. Approved the appointment of Rehmann Robson to conduct the annual audit.
- m. Set board member compensation at \$30 per meeting plus mileage reimbursement at the board established rate.
- n. Approved continuation of the current Board by-laws for the 2017-2018 school year and established the Board's regular meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month, with the exception of September, 2017 (held on the 3rd Monday). All Board meetings will be held at the Administration Building.
- o. Designated the Superintendent as the person responsible for posting appropriate notices regarding such meetings.
- 4. The Board approved the following employment recommendations:
 - a. Stephanie Bailiff, Head Start mentor teacher
 - b. Sarah Carmody, School Psychologist
 - c. Amber Dietrich, Local Based Special Education Teacher
 - d. Jannicka Martinsen, SCI teacher
 - e. Rori Meyerink, Special Education Supervisor, East Region
 - f. Sarah Vaughn, ECSE Teacher
 - g. Jacqueline Rooks, Teacher Consultant, ECSE
- 5. The Board approved the establishment and posting of a teacher aide position in the Transition Center.
- 6. The board approved the additional positions for the Extended School Year program.
- 7. The board recalled Steven Madrid, YOP Specialist.

- 8. The board approved the out of state conference request for Michelle Brahaney and Nicole VanDaele to attend the Head Start Region V Leadership Conference in Chicago, IL in October 2017.
- 9. The board approved the out of state conference request for Lisa Montrief and Sandy Whitcomb to attend the Sungard National Users Group Conference in Alexandria, Virginia in October 2017.
- 10. The board approved the out of state conference request for all five board members to attend the AESA Conference in San Antonio, TX in November/December, 2017.
- 11. The Board approved the attendance of Stephen McNew to attend the AESA Conference in San Antonio in November/December 2017.
- 12. The meeting adjourned at 8:23 a.m.

Resignations

Nicole Dethloff Ericka Hosang Jennifer Luciow Christina Sims

Retirements

Chuck Kaseman