## MONROE COUNTY INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT RESUME' OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

## JULY 22, 2019

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 8:30 a.m.
- 2. Dr. McNew administered the Oath of Office to Mr. Paul Miller and Dr. Barry Martin.
- 3. The Board took formal action on the following organizational matters:
  - a. Elected Dale DeSloover as President.
  - b. Elected Renee Larzelere as Vice-President.
  - c. Elected Russell Bless as Treasurer.
  - d. Elected Paul Miller as Secretary.
  - e. Appointed Renee Larzelere as representative to the Monroe County Association of Boards of Education Board of Directors and Dale DeSloover as the representative for the Michigan Association of School Boards Legislative Relations Network.
  - f. Designated Fifth Third Bank as depository for the General Operating Fund, the Special Education Operating Fund, the School Service Fund, the Municipal Investment Account, accounts payable, student activity accounts, the Capital Projects Fund, the Employee Cash Fund, and the Reserve Fund and a zero balance account for EduStaff, and a zero balance account for BASIC.

Designated Monroe Bank and Trust as the reserve account.

Designated PNC for the MIF account, student activities, capital project, employee cash, and zero balance account for BASIC.

Designated JP Morgan Chase as a zero balance account for the 403(b) program.

g. Designated two of the Treasurer, Superintendent, or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as authorized signatures for the General Operating Fund, the Special Education Operating Fund, the School Service Fund, the Activity Accounts, the Capital Projects Fund, the Reserve

Fund (Municipal Investment) Account; and the Employee Cash Fund and Zero Balance Accounts.

- h. Designated the Superintendent or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as authorized signatures for purchase order transactions up to the state bid limit without formal Board approval.
- i. Designated the Superintendent as the authorized signature for all contracts.
- j. Designated the Superintendent or Assistant Superintendent for Business and Administrative Services as the authorized signature for using the MEGS grant system.
- k. Approved the appointment of the Thrun Law Firm of Lansing as legal counsel for external general education matters and external special education matters, and Elizabeth Taylor as internal legal counsel for the Board of Education for the 2019-2020 school year.
- 1. Approved the appointment of Rehmann Robson to conduct the annual audit.
- m. Set board member compensation at \$30 per meeting plus mileage reimbursement at the board established rate.
- n. Approved continuation of the current Board by-laws for the 2019-2020 school year and established the Board's September May regular meetings at 5:00 p.m. and June August at 8:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday of each month, with the exception of September, 2019 (held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday). All Board meetings will be held at the Administration Building.
- o. Designated the Superintendent as the person responsible for posting appropriate notices regarding such meetings.
- 4. The board approved the Head Start COLA rate increase of 1.77%.
- 5. The Board approved the following employment recommendations:
  - a. Dawn Henderson, Speech and Language Pathologist
  - b. Ryan Knoblauch, Assistive Technology Consultant
  - c. Jessica Kuzara, Special Education Teacher
  - d. Margot Lechlak, Mental Health Consultant
  - e. Alyssa Maldonado, Temp. Early Childhood Special Education Teacher
  - f. Gina Mann, Speech and Language Pathologist
  - g. Melanie Menard, Head Start Mental Health Coordinator
  - h. Laura Marckel, Special Education Teacher
  - i. Sarah Yu, Assistant Principal, Ed Center

- 6. The Board approved the establishment and posting of an Early Head Start Family Partnership Specialist
- 7. The board approved an additional 12 days for Chris Todd to complete the MiExcel Focus.
- 8. The board approved two additional days for Lynn Preston on August 13 and 22.
- 9. The board approved the out of state conference request for Dale DeSloover, Renee Larzelere, Paul Miller, Russell Bless and Barry Martin to attend the AESA Conference in Phoenix, AZ from Dec. 4-8, 2019.
- 10. The board approved the out of state conference request for Steve McNew and Andrea Murphy to attend the AESA Conference in Phoenix, AZ from Dec. 4-8, 2019.
- 11. The meeting adjourned at 9:18 a.m.

Resignations
Samantha Barr
Dawn Bentley
Jill Cepo
Kelsey Drewyor
Kathy Lott

Retirement Kim Duffy