SCAS: Secondary Credit Assessment System 

The Michigan Department of Education is required by law to develop content expectations in the required course/credit areas, guidelines in other course/credit areas, and exit examinations in at least the required course/credit areas.

The Secondary Credit Assessment System (SCAS) is comprised of three components:

  • Summative assessments (end-of-course examinations)

  • Interim benchmark assessments

  • Formative assessment strategies

Each component provides information about student achievement of the content standards.

(Source: Michigan Department of Education)

State Testing Resources

Director of Research, Evaluation and Assessment

Kathleen Berry
Director of Research, Evaluation and Assessment